Accounting scholarships announced

Community News & Features Oct 16, 2004 at 11:14 am

TORONTO–The Association of Filipino Canadian Accountants (AFCA) is proud to announce the launching of its Scholarship Program for 2004. AFCA President Julito Longkines said: “The mission of the Scholarship Program is to provide financial assistance to Filipino Canadian students in Ontario who are pursuing a career in Accountancy.

In this initial phase of the program, AFCA will be awarding two scholarships for the year 2004. The top scholar will be given a one-time monetary grant of $1,000 and the second placer will get $500. Both will also be given a certificate and a medal.

Eligible applicants are those who have finished the first two years of university education or one year of college education and are currently enrolled or will be enrolled in the current school year on a full-time basis to pursue Accountancy as his/her major. This grant is also available to CGA/CMA/CA students, who are enrolled in at least the third level of the program (or equivalent level for CMA/CA). The family income of the student’s parents should not be more than $100,000; if he/she has been living alone for more than one year, the applicant’s income should not be more than $50,000.

Application forms can be obtained by sending a request through any of the following methods: by
e-mail to:, by fax to: (905) 625-9981, by mail to AFCA Scholarship Committee, c/o Veritax Accounting & Tax Services, 205 Matheson Boulevard East, Suite 3, Mississauga, Ontario L4Z 3E3, or by contacting any AFCA officer or member. Deadline for the submission of application forms is Monday, November 8, 2004 at 5:00 p.m.

According to Bobby dela Cruz, Chair of the AFCA Scholarship Committee, Canadian scholarship applicants will also be able to compete, beginning in 2005, for the annual scholarship grants given by the National Council of Philippine American Canadian Accountants (NCPACA) who are giving three scholarships of US$5,000, US$2,500 and US$1,500.

The other members of the AFCA Scholarship Committee are Bing Paduada, Resty del Rosario, Winston Lim, Buddy Ibe and Mitchell Arrojado.