FCT Filipino Singing Idol on Jan. 21

Community News & Features Jan 16, 2005 at 2:13 pm

Filipino Singing Idol, Jan. 21

The second round of the Filipino Singing Idol contest is coming up, folks! It’s not too late to sign up for the Friday, January 21st competition at the Rizal Hall. If not, there is the next and final elimination round on April 22nd before all finalists will compete at the Pistahan Sa Toronto on June 11th. Those of you who were not able to make it to the finals last year can enter the contest and try again. The more practice you get, the more secure you feel. With such confidence and all jitters gone, who knows, you can reach the top!

The FSI very active chairperson Belle Tumbokon has been very busy promoting the competition, getting sponsors and, of course, persuading singers to join. She was able to convince Canadian Idol finalist Mikey Bustos to guest-star at the forthcoming January 21st contest. Mikey, along with his parents, visited the Centre last month and thrilled the members of the Philippine Parents Association with a song while they were holding a meeting at the Ottawa Room. He is promoting his new song, “Love Me Again”, which will be released in February in the album EPCD Extended Play which will also include his popular songs, “Hello” and “The One I Need the Most.”

For information regarding the contest, please call the Centre, 416-928-9355.

FCT Awards for Outstanding Students

Graduating elementary and high school Filipino students who are excelling in their studies will be honoured and rewarded by the Filipino Centre, Toronto. They will receive recognition and honour aside from trophies and bursaries. They must, however, first meet the criteria for the scholarship awards. They will also be interviewed and evaluated. The student with the highest overall mark in the category he/she has applied for wins the topmost prize for that category.

The competition is open to students in their last year of elementary school and high school – entering university, community college and apprenticeship program. More information will be released in the next issue. The application form will also be ready by then.

The Committee for the FCT Student Awards is composed of educators, past and present, namely: Herman Viloria, Lynda Javier, Tony San Juan, Luchie Sivilia, Jody Hwang, Victor Agaton and Aida D’Orazio.