‘Gluten-Free’ you can believe
Up until recently, food manufacturers could designate their products “gluten-free” without adhering to any formal or agreed-upon definition. All that has changed with the new U.S. Food and Drug Administration designation, however, now in effect: any products claiming to be gluten-free must have an undetectable level of gluten (fewer than 20 parts per million) and cannot have any ingredient containing wheat, rye, barley, or any of their derivatives. (Some exceptions will remain on the shelves legally for now; pasta that was produced before the ruling, for example).
Approximately 3 million people in the United States have celiac disease, and the gluten-free diet is the only scientifically-approved treatment for the ailment. Gluten-free is becoming increasingly trendy as a dietary lifestyle, as well. Strict penalties face those producers who dare defy the new rules, but gluten-adverse restaurant goers will have to wait. For now, the new rules apply only to packaged foods.
Source: “’Gluten-free’ now really means gluten-free,” by Saarik Gupta, CNN.com, August 6, 2014.
For more information on health and safety visit the Ontario Chiropractic Association; website at www.chiropractic.on.ca or call 1877-327-2273; Dr. George Traitses, 416-499-5656, www.infinite-health.com